Learn more about the Accreditation Board and the Accreditation Unit

The SVG National Accreditation Board
               & The Accreditation Unit

The National Accreditation Board (NAB) of St. Vincent and the Grenadines has been established by the Further and Higher Education (Accreditation) Act Nos. 35 of 2006. The NAB is empowered by the Act to register and accredit tertiary level institutions and their programmes. The NAB is equally empowered to deregister or cause the closure of any institution that operates outside the provisions of The Further and Higher Education (Accreditation) Act.

Open the tab below to discover what the Accreditation Act permits

The Accreditation Act permits the following to sit on the NAB:

  • Chief Education Officer
  • Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Education;
  • a representative from each of the following professional associations or bodies:
    • Bar Association
    • Medical Association
    • Teaching
    • Engineering
    • Architectural
    • Accounting
  • the Director of the Community College or Nominee;
  • the Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Health; or Nominee
  • a representative from the Chamber of Industry and Commerce
  • the Attorney General or Nominee
  • the Chief Personnel Officer or Nominee;
  • a representative of the Technical and Vocational Sector;
  • the Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Planning or Nominee;
  • a representative of the Workers’ Institute for Education and Research or any similar body;
  • a representative of the National Training Agency;
  • not more than three persons nominated by the Cabinet from among persons with expertise in higher education, business and personnel management or training.


A number of institutions continue to offer their services outside of the legal expectations of the Accreditation Act of 2006. The National Accreditation Board has already taken measures to protect the interest of unsuspecting nationals / residents with respect to tertiary level education.  The National Accreditation Board continues to be vigilant with respect to its mandate and has reviewed the applications of several establishments.

The first and only Chief Executive Director of the NAB was Mr. Kelvin Malcolm in 2009.   Since the departure of Mr. Malcolm, the Accreditation Unit in the Ministry of Education has been working to support the operations of the NAB with the provision of both human and material resource.  The AU is currently headed by Dr.Trisha-Ann Job-Moses.  Her predecessors were Mrs. Descima Hamilton and Mrs. Corinne Gonsalves. Both Mr. Malcolm and Mrs. Gonsalves were supported by Administrative Assistant Mrs. Taja Young-Cupid. 

The Accreditation Unit

The Accreditation Unit serves as the secretariat of the NAB. The AU is currently headed by Dr. Trisha-Ann Job-Moses.  The other officers assigned to the Accreditation Unit include, Ms.Kristhlyn Williams, Ms. Telisa Ollivierre, Mrs. Amanda St.Clair-Burke and Mr. Jontéz Primus.  However, the functioning of the Accreditation Unit is enabled by a number of External Evaluators.  Additionally, the staff at the Accreditation Unit has been given intimate support by other Senior Officers in the Ministry of Education.  Their support allows the AU/ NAB to more readily meet the needs of the public.